Teaching: The Best Job Ever

Published May 5, 2013 by dennib68

I am blessed to be a teacher.  Every year I have 20 to 24 seven to eight year olds.  They all have different personalities, different abilities, different home lives, different cultures and I love them all.  Some students are more challenging than others but I never get tired of trying to figure out what makes my students get motivated to learn or excited about new things. The most important thing to me as a teacher is to form a bond with my students so I can make them feel safe to take risks and challenge themselves.  The least important thing to me is whether my students do well on the once a year, mandatory state testing.  It does nothing to show the journey my students have taken during the school year: their successes, their accomplishments, their challenges followed by their courage to keep trying. Really, I don’t care about state tests…..Hmmm….then why am I so distressed about the state testing that begins in my classroom on Tuesday?  

9 comments on “Teaching: The Best Job Ever

  • The chief accomplishment of state testing has been to centralize control of the schools at the state level and thereby politicizing funding to an even greater degree. A feat I didn’t think was possible.

    I’m sorry you have to put up with this!

  • For me the most frustrating thing about state and federal control of school funding is the inequity built in to it. I work at a school with high poverty. We get some extra funding due to the poverty but there is restrictions on how the money is spent. But in an affluent city not too far from my school, the schools have a very active education foundation and are able to raise a few million dollars over a weekend fundraiser so they can spend the money for cutting edge technology, a real librarian with a well stocked library, art teachers, music teachers, etc. while my little darlings who need the most help don’t get any of that. It is so frustrating!

    • The inequity of public school funding in much of the US is a crime. Good for you for sticking with kids who really need your energy to balance out those inequities.

    • The funding structure that was designed to bring parity seldom does. In my state, the funding for public schools was centralized a little over 30 years ago, and the same schools that desperately needed more funding when the structure was passed by our legislature, still are in desperate need. But the state department of education has certainly grown exponentially in its numbers.

      I heartily agree with Servetus and commend you for making a difference with those who are i most need!

    • When (some of) those students end up in my hands after thirteen years of school, I carry on notional dialogues with every teacher they’ve ever had. I can’t change much at that point, and I know you may not feel like you have much power to make things better but you have infinitely more than I do! Every time you teach someone something, I’m the beneficiary.

      • Servetus is so right. One person really can make a difference even when it seems doubtful. For one of my children, the teacher who made the difference was her P.E. teacher. Crazy as that sounds, it’s true.

  • Leave a Reply

